none
Spark application build in local server, how can we access Hive Warehouse located in HDInsight RRS feed

• Question

• Hello Techie,

This is my first project on HDInsight 

I'm trying to connect to the Hive warehouse directory located in HDInsight by using Spark on IntelliJ.

I am using Spark 1.6 with Scala and Maven Project.

Thrift Server details:

`System.setProperty("hive.metastore.uris", `"thrift://hnaz.xyz123.internal.cloudapp.net:1403")`.

i am trying to access tables of hive warehouse.

package Test
    import org.apache.spark.{SparkConf, SparkContext}
    import org.apache.spark.sql.{SQLContext, SaveMode, sources}

object TestHive {
      def main(args: Array[String]): Unit = {

// get spark configuration
        val conf = new SparkConf()
          .setAppName("SparkHiveTest")
        conf.setMaster("local[*]")
        System.setProperty("hive.metastore.uris", "thrift://hnaz.xyz123.internal.cloudapp.net:1403")
        import org.apache.spark.sql.hive.HiveContext
        val sc = new  SparkContext(conf)
        val hiveContext = new HiveContext(sc)
        implicit val sqlContext = new SQLContext(sc)

import org.apache.spark.sql.functions._
        import sqlContext.implicits._

val df1 = sqlContext.sql(s"use $data_profiling, sqlContext.sql("show tables")");

}
    }

The POM Dependencies look like

<dependency>
                <groupId>org.apache.spark</groupId>
                <artifactId>spark-hive_2.11</artifactId>
                <version>${spark.version}</version>
                <scope>compile</scope>
                <!-- provided -->
            </dependency>

But unfortunately i am not able to connect the node. am i missing something. Please help me.

Friday, October 25, 2019 7:33 AM

Answers

• Hello,

It is not possible to access HDInsight which is in Azure HDInsight using local instance.

You need to perform the operation on the created Azure HDInsight cluster.