How to design a program RRS feed

• Question

• I was looking through the code for LitDev's program (BNW650) he wrote for the Rocky's Boots thread.  I printed the thing out and it is 9 pages of size 8 font.  I admit I am an awful programmer.  I learned on Apple BASIC and Pascal in '83 while trying to teach a high school programming course.  Everything else I have learned has been from teaching and one really bad college Java course.  I beat the program I want to write into submission by sitting in front of a keyboard and typing trial and error code.  As a high school teacher this method works because all I usually do is write little programs for teaching purposes.  I also write some simple stuff to solve Project Euler problems.  This method works just fine for little stuff but I just cannot picture it working for 9 pages of size 8 font.  Is there some tool, book/s or whatever for teaching amateur programmers (high school programming teachers are usually not pros by any definition, at least not the ones I have met) who want to write something more than 100 lines how to design a program before sitting down to write code?  I have been looking for a few years but no luck.  I know what a flow chart is but that does not seem to suit larger programs.  I am working with some pretty sharp kids using VB but all we really do is hack on code.  No designing or real planning.  If I go to any book on programming it is “type this to get this to happen”.  Nothing on good design methods.  Is there something out there that will help me program and teach programming better?

Monday, January 18, 2010 11:53 PM

Answers

• I haven't come across any good general guidelines, but here's my thoughts.

1] Think about the whole project and work out in a bit of detail what you want it to do in total (not necessarily how it will do it, but rather what you want it to do) - then write a stub routine for the 'main loop' such as:

Initialise()
    While ("True")
      process_event_flags()