none
grouping and returning values using linq RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am new to LINQ and need some help with the following basic query. I have in a table a list of states that could have rows with with the same state.

I need to group the states and then display the state and the total count for each state. Eg: CA (3), FL (1), AZ (5).

My table looks something like this:

I have been able to perform this query on a test page with a test list and then i am able to display it in a control.

My Linq query is: 

varmyResult = froms inloc.GroupBy(p => p.State)

orderbys.Key

selectnew                          

{

State = s.Key

};

" ("+ (fromct inloc wherect.State == s.Key selectct.State).Count() + ")"

vardubarray = myResult.ToArray();

My problem is that I have this query in a class I do not know how to pass the var as a parameter and thus access the data. I have been plugging away for a couple of days now and am not sure which direction to go.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you.

Thursday, September 20, 2012 7:17 PM

Answers

• Hi Fernando,

I got it sorted. I cleaned up my code and built some basic pages and classes from scratch.

I was able to use the:

foreach (StateResult itemin chk.GetStates())                
    {  
        lstTestData
    .Items.Add(item.State);
    }

I also had to clean up the group statement in the linq query as it was working fine when I created a temp list in code to query but then when I queried the db I got some errors.

I was also looking at this link, but have not had time to go through and implemetn it to see if it would work for me:

http://devtechnospot.wordpress.com/2011/11/07/return-anonymous-type-from-c-method/

This grouping example also helped me:

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1634830/counting-items-in-grouped-results-in-linq-to-sql

Many thanks for your help. I do understand it a bit more but need more flight time as I am new to Linq and very weak on it. I shall persevere.

Thanks again,