none
Bad Flickering in Game RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am somewhat new to Visual Basic and am trying to code a game. The title screen contains a animation. Once the user presses enter, refreshes and paints the next level's background. Then it paints the player's sprite. Once it paints the sprite, it starts flickering badly. If I try to move the player using WASD, the player disappears completely. Here is some of the code for the game:

Private Sub GlooberForm_Paint(sender As Object, e As System.Windows.Forms.PaintEventArgs) Handles Me.Paint
            Dim startFont As Font = New Font("04b", 30, FontStyle.Bold, GraphicsUnit.Pixel)
            Dim whiteBrush As New SolidBrush(Color.White)
            Dim myGraphics As Graphics = e.Graphics
            If gameStarted = False Then
                myGraphics.DrawString("PRESS ENTER TO START", startFont, whiteBrush, 75, 300)
                myGraphics.DrawImage(gloobers(startFrame), logoPoint)
            End If
            If gameStarted = True Then
                Select Case currentKey
                    Case "w"
                        ' paint, and then invalidate? integer for invalidated? need to only invalidate once. use update? just need to stop flickering'
                        If keyPressed = True Then
                            playerSprite.Size.X = 55
                            playerSprite.Size.Y = 55
                            playerSprite.PaintImage(myGraphics, DoubleBuffered)
                            Invalidate()
                            Invalidated = 1
                        End If
                    Case "s"
                            Invalidate()
                            playerSprite.Size.X = 55
                            playerSprite.Size.Y = 55
                        End If
                    Case "a"
                            Invalidate()
                            playerSprite.Size.X = 55
                            playerSprite.Size.Y = 55