why can't I complie? RRS feed

• Question

• Just downloaded visual c++ 2008 - first time that I've used it. Admittably, I'm no expert but can do basic programming using C/C++. I'm trying to compile a simple C program just to get me started, something like;

#include <iostream.h
    int main()
    {
      cout << "hello" <<endl;
      return 0;
    }

The program won't build though! I've never seen this before. The build log has a single error;

general error c1010070: Failed to load and parse the manifest. The system cannot find the file specified.

Any suggestions on what to do next would be gratefully recieved!

Monday, February 1, 2010 10:41 AM

Answers

• Something like?

If this isn't the exact code then you need to post the exact code.

Otherwise I suggest you get a newer C++ book to learn from.

The issue here is that the compile and build failed but for some reason VC doesn't notice that the executable doesn't exist. If you select Build->Rebuild Solution then it will delete all the files that it currently has and start the build again. But then you will get compiler errors.

From your program above I will point out all of the problems with it.

The most obvious problem is that your include statement is incorrect. You are missing the > from the end. So for it to be correct it should be.
    #include <iostream.h>

Besides the above iostream.h is a very old header file. It hasn't been in VC++ since VC6 (since 2008 is VC9 then it hasn't been in there for a while). The reason for this is that iostream.h isn't standards compliant so it was removed and replaced with a more compliant version. So if you are learning from something which is telling you to use iostream.h then I would suggest you find something newer.

If you don't want to change what you are learning from then I will help you out.

First, replace iostream.h with iostream

#include <iostream>

But you must remember that everything inside it is in the std namespace.

So for the line.