none
Need help deleting duplicate records but keeping the first RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to access.  Using Access 2010.  I am working trying to delete duplicate records from a table.
    I have set a unique key to the table [tbl_Cmbn_RateSheetTerms_Audit_Collapsed] in order to identify duplicate data within the table for the field [RATESHEETCODE]
    I then created a query [qry_000e_list_of_firsts_RS_collapsed] to identify the first record of the duplicates here is the SQL: SELECT First(tbl_Cmbn_RateSheetTerms_Audit_Collapsed.Uniq  ueKey) AS FirstOfUniqueKey, tbl_Cmbn_RateSheetTerms_Audit_Collapsed.RATESHEETC  ODE FROM tbl_Cmbn_RateSheetTerms_Audit_Collapsed GROUP BY tbl_Cmbn_RateSheetTerms_Audit_Collapsed.RATESHEETC  ODE;

I then created a query [qry_000f_list_to_delete_RS_collapsed] to identify the records that need to be deleted.  I used my original table tbl_Cmbn_RateSheetTerms_Audit_Collapsed and the query qry_000e_list_of_firsts_RS_collapsed linked them by unique key here is the SQL: SELECT tbl_Cmbn_RateSheetTerms_Audit_Collapsed.UniqueKey, tbl_Cmbn_RateSheetTerms_Audit_Collapsed.ReportMont  hYr, tbl_Cmbn_RateSheetTerms_Audit_Collapsed.RATESHEETC  ODE
    FROM tbl_Cmbn_RateSheetTerms_Audit_Collapsed LEFT JOIN qry_000e_list_of_firsts_RS_collapsed ON tbl_Cmbn_RateSheetTerms_Audit_Collapsed.[UniqueKey] = qry_000e_list_of_firsts_RS_collapsed.[FirstOfUniqueKey]
    WHERE (((qry_000e_list_of_firsts_RS_collapsed.FirstOfUni  queKey) Is Null));

I am now trying to create a third and final query to delete the duplicates from the original table.  I was attempting to do this using dlookup but I can't figure it out. HELP PLEASE!!!!
    Wednesday, September 16, 2015 3:39 PM

Answers

• Hi. Make sure you have a backup copy of your db before trying this out:

DELETE FROM tbl_Cmbn_RateSheetTerms_Audit_Collapsed WHERE [Uniq ueKey] Not In(SELECT FirstOfUniqueKey FROM qry_000e_list_of_firsts_RS_collapsed)

untested - Hope that helps...