none
Any way to get Visual Studio 2008 Professional as a DreamSpark member to install Embedded Compact 7 libraries?

Question

• Hello,

I am a student member of Microsoft DreamSpark and I am trying to install the Windows Embedded Compact 7 libraries provided in the DreamSpark software catalog, but it needs Visual Studio 2008 Professional SP1 with mobile libraries to be installed.

I tried all of the software from the catalog that had Visual Studio in the name, but it still demanded the specific version to be installed. After some further research, I noticed VS2008 was originally in the catalog (Well until 2013 or so while looking at the WayBack Machine) but for some reason it's been removed from the catalog.

Without it, the Embedded Compact 7 product from the catalog would be completely useless without me going on the hunt for VS2008.

Is there any way for me to get my hands in a copy of it by any chance these days?

P.S. DreamSpark Student Support redirected me here. Since I fear this can be a bit off topic, I placed this question in the general section.

Saturday, February 27, 2016 10:06 PM

All replies

• Hi jack,

Thanks for your post.

It seems like that you want install the VS2008 Professional SP1.

If so,  as far as I know , VS2008 is no longer available from Microsoft. The online registration link and download link is not live any longer.

To download this version of VS, if you have MSDN subscription then go to the following link, click "Go" button to search it and install it:

https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/subscriptions/securedownloads#searchTerm=Visual%20Studio%202008%20Professional%20Edition&ProductFamilyId=0&Languages=en&PageSize=10&PageIndex=0&FileId=0

If I misunderstood your issue, please feel free to let me know.

Best Regards,

Lake Xiao

Tuesday, March 01, 2016 1:43 AM
  • Hey Lake,

So it seems VS2008 is gone from the DreamSpark ecosystem.