How can I scroll some content without having a scroll bar?

Question

• Hello,

I am very new to this forum. I was developing an application for WebOS (Touchpad) until HP cancelled all things WebOS last summer, unfortunately. Since I am very experienced in C++ development in Windows (due to my day job) I decided to continue that application for Windows 8 tablets.

I have done enough reading of relative documentation but I am new to XAML also. I have done some searching here in the forums but I think I can't find the answer I am looking for. Forgive me if there is somewhere and couldn't find it. After that disclaimer :) my question is this:

It seems to me (from the samples I studied) that the only way to scroll some content in Windows 8 Metro apps is through a scroll bar control. Is that correct?

I want to be able to have a list (ListView or whatever), horizontal or vertical, that can scroll just by using a gesture over the list and without having to touch/click some specific scroll bar area. Exactly like the way lists work on most smartphones/tablets I have seen (they don't show any scroll bar). Is that feasible? Do I miss something? Do I have to implement that functionality by myself from scratch?

I think that the above is an important feature and I wish I have just missed it.

Thanks in advance,

Fotis Kapetanias

Wednesday, January 25, 2012 1:25 PM

Answers

• Hi Fotis,

That sounds like how ListViews and GridViews work by default. I suggest you try this with a sample app and if you can't get the behavior you want then please ask a more specific question with details on what exactly you tried, exactly what behavior you wanted, and exactly the behavior you actually saw.

--Rob

• Marked as answer by Bob_Bao Monday, February 6, 2012 3:39 PM
    Thursday, February 2, 2012 1:53 AM
    Owner

All replies

• Hi Fotis,