Upload Excel Test case to TFS using Java Programming RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am new to TFS and would like to know,Is there any way where in i can upload my excel test cases to TFS Using java Program?, I knew we can do it using different tools like Test case migrator plus but don't want to use it, I have used the TFS SDK and i am able to connect to TFS and Create work items so far.Please let me know if you need any more information.

Thanks in Advance.

Rajesh.

Wednesday, February 26, 2014 6:43 AM

Answers

• Hi Rajesh,

There is nothing in the Java SDK that supports taking an excel sheet so you need to parse this file manually and populate the workitem fields.

Please let me know If you have any other questions/issues.

Thanks

Mireille

Wednesday, February 26, 2014 2:55 PM

All replies

• Hi Rajesh,

There is nothing in the Java SDK that supports taking an excel sheet so you need to parse this file manually and populate the workitem fields.

Please let me know If you have any other questions/issues.

Thanks

Mireille

Wednesday, February 26, 2014 2:55 PM
  • Hi Rajesh,

I am sorry I was not clear enough, I meant write your own Java application that will parse the excel sheets and uses the Java SDK to create the test cases.

IF this is not going to work for you, please let me know and I can move your question to the Wit team, they might have a better solution.

Thanks

Mireille

Friday, February 28, 2014 2:43 PM
  • Hi Mireille,

Thanks for Reply,

I have written own java application that able to connect to TFS and Create work items so far with usingTFS-SDK-11.0.0. but i am not able to populate the work item fields (ie Action, Expected Result) . i need a help/ java-program to populate work item fields (Action and Expected Result).

once i able to populate those fields then i will parse the excel sheet and assign excel fields data to the work item fields through java.

Thanks in Advance,

Rajesh

Friday, February 28, 2014 6:20 PM
  • Hi Rajesh,