none
How can i specify the type of aggregation in calculated member (puting avg instead of sum).

Question

• Hello everyone,

I'm a beginner in SSAS and i want to know how can get the average X value / Y value. so just to explain the context: 

I have dimension vehicles and dimension session and also measures Number fo sessions and number of vehicles.

I want to know the average of sessions per vehicle, the result that i had per day is good but when i roll up  i get the sum of days values.

How can i specify the type of aggregation in calculated member (put avg instead of sum).

Best regards

• Edited by Djaber T Tuesday, July 10, 2018 3:55 PM
    Tuesday, July 10, 2018 3:49 PM

All replies

• It depends on your fact table how to store both key values of the vehicles and sessions. Can you provide the details?

A Fan of SSIS, SSRS and SSAS

Tuesday, July 10, 2018 4:04 PM
  • Hi @Guoxiong

yes In the fact table i have the two keys and in the measures i have count of sessions and count of vehicles

Is it clean ?

Thnks in advance 

Tuesday, July 10, 2018 4:12 PM
  • When you said "... count of sessions and count of vehicles", the counts are based on what? daily, monthly or something?

Tuesday, July 10, 2018 4:17 PM
  • @Guoxiong

Yes daily  the small level 

Tuesday, July 10, 2018 4:25 PM
  • I guess that you have the date column for those counts. So you need to do the calculation like Sum(Count_Of_Sessions) / Sum(Count_Of_Vehicles) grouping by date.

Tuesday, July 10, 2018 4:51 PM
  • Hi Djaber,

Thanks for your question.

>>>yes In the fact table i have the two keys and in the measures i have count of sessions and count of vehicles
    Assuming you have created these two measure called CountOfSessions and CountOfVehicles.

>>>I want to know the average of sessions per vehicle, the result that i had per day is good but when i roll up  i get the sum of days values.
    In this scenario, you can just try below MDX code:

Create Member CurrentCube.[Measures].[Average]