Menu Divider or Seperator using CSS and or CSS adapters. RRS feed

• Question

• User1827036602 posted
    Great work on the Adapters.  I am attempting to create a menu with separator via CSS between specific items.  Please refer to http://forums.asp.net/thread/1449615.aspx for more detail with regards to plain (non css adapted) menus.  Is it possible using CSS adapters to specify a divider or separator between specific menu items, preferably using styles/css such as a border-bottom: 1px or even a 1 px high span/div tag with a background color?  Please note I don't want to apply this to all items in the menu, just specific ones.  Can this be done through modifying css classes, or would the adapter code need to be modified.  I am new to CSS adapters, perhaps someone can please point me in the right direction?  Thanks!  Example:

SubMenu
    MenuItem 1
    MenuItem 2
    -----------------  < Preferably a style/css, not an image
    MenuItem 3
    MenuItem 4

Saturday, November 4, 2006 1:51 PM

All replies

• User1827036602 posted
    Scott Guthrie's Blog entry at http://weblogs.asp.net/scottgu/archive/2006/05/02/CSS-Control-Adapter-Toolkit-for-ASP.NET-2.0-.aspx was very helpful in helping me navigate through the menu adapters code.  In looking at the CSS Adpaters Tutorial, I see I can modify the App_Code/Adapters/MenuAdapters.vb - BuildItem method.  I can append another css class to those already applied such as " ASP-Net-Divider", and specify the styles for this divider class in the CSS/Menu.css or the file. 

Sunday, November 5, 2006 9:22 PM
  • User1111022833 posted

I don't know if this will help you but I got seperators to work with a sitemap.  You can still customize the <hr /> tag with css if needed.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>

<siteMap xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/AspNet/SiteMap-File-1.0" >

<siteMapNode url="" title="" description="">

<siteMapNode url="MenuItem1.aspx" title="Menu Item 1" description="Menu Item 1 description" />