Monitoring Printer Devices in the Metro App

Question

• Hello.

I'm Daniel Park and working as software engineer.

I have some questions about background task on windows 8 to monitor status of printing devices.

I've been testing background tasks for Metro UI because I need to implement monitoring metro app to check printing status when user print out something via installed printers. To implement this part, I think background task can be used to polling printing devices and show toast messages if there are critical errors by firing some triggers.

I've faced some issues with this feasibility. My initial plan is that I think background task for monitoring printer devices can be fired by TimerTrigger or SessionStart Trigger and then the task is running as a thread to check device and show Toast messages if there is critical device errors. And then it’s terminated if the printing job is finished by checking device status.

First of all, minimum configuration of TimerTigger is 15 min. so that it cannot be used to monitor device in real time. If I can use this TimerTigger with more specific time such as 500 milliseconds, when printing is fired, printer driver call immediately the background task which monitor devices during printing. Anyway, it’s impossible with current implementation of Windows 8.