Custom WebPart Consuming External Web Service - 401: Unauthorized RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I'm new to SharePoint and am currently trying to create a custom web part that will consume an external .NET web service. After numerous attempts I've hit a roadblock that I can't seem to pass...

The request failed with HTTP status 401: Unauthorized.
       at System.Web.Services.Protocols.SoapHttpClientProtocol.ReadResponse(SoapClientMessage message, WebResponse response, Stream responseStream, Boolean asyncCall)
       at System.Web.Services.Protocols.SoapHttpClientProtocol.Invoke(String methodName, Object[] parameters)
       at Foo.TestWebService.Service1.HelloWorld()
       at my.webparts.ConsumeWSWebPart.callWebService()

My setup is as follows...

Dev/Web Service Machine
    Win Server 2003 R2 SP2
    IIS 6.0
    VS 2008 (.NET 2.0 SP1)

SharePoint Machine
    Win Server 2003 R2 SP2
    MOSS 2007

On my Dev machine I created a .NET web service and am hosting it on IIS 6.0. Currently the directory security on my web service is to NOT allow anonymous access and to use integrated Windows authentication (I've also tested with various other security combinations.) Below is my WebPart (the user is a member of the Dev machine's Administrators group)...

public class ConsumeWSWebPart : WebPart
    {
            protected override void Render(System.Web.UI.HtmlTextWriter writer)
            {
                writer.Write(callWebService());
            }

private string callWebService()
            {
                string res = "DEFAULT";
                try
                {
                    Foo.TestWebService.Service1 ws = new Foo.TestWebService.Service1();
                    ws.Credentials = new NetworkCredential("user", "pwd", "domain");
                    res = ws.HelloWorld();
                    res = "SUCCESS";
                }
                catch (Exception ex)
                {
                    res = "ERROR";