none
PayPal "Add to Cart" Button takes visitor to PayPal account, not shopping cart RRS feed

• Question

• Greetings:

This is my first time posting. Just finished spending about 70 hours to go through the first 19 "hours" of Sams Teach Yourself MEW3 in 24 hours. :)

Great book.

Anyway. the title above pretty well explains my problem. I read an earlier thread dealing with PayPal buttons, but that thread didn't address my problem. The answer to that thread was to post the html from paypal button in code view. This is what I have done. The button looks good on my site, but doesn't take you to a shopping cart.

Here is a link to my site .

I really appreciate any help. I've contacted paypal but their "answer" wasn't helpful.

Friday, June 11, 2010 3:43 PM

Answers

• Your working Add button has name="cmd".  Your non-working button has name="cmd1".  My guess is that paypal cares what the name is, and that "cmd" means command, while "cmd1" means nothing.  Try changing it.
    • Marked as answer by sierranomad Friday, June 11, 2010 7:27 PM
    Friday, June 11, 2010 6:23 PM

All replies

• Your link 404's. Not sure it matters as this is PayPal issue and should be resolved through their resources.

For information on PayPal button use their documentation (its great):

https://www.paypalobjects.com/WEBSCR-630-20100607-1/en_US/pdf/PP_WebsitePaymentsStandard_IntegrationGuide.pdf

https://www.paypal.com/us/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=p/xcl/web-accept-to-sc-button-outside

--
    Chris Hanscom - Microsoft MVP
    On Facebook | On Twitter | Resource Center | Veign's Blog | Web Development Help

Get a Complete Website Analysis by Veign
    Friday, June 11, 2010 3:48 PM
  • Sorry about the 404. It should link properly now.

What I don't get is that I've used paypal buttons in my previous website and never had a problem. In fact, my old pages buttons still work.

I added the buttons the same with both editors, namely paste the html in code view.

Anyone else use paypal buttons?