none
Restore Windows 2008 Server Full Image Backup RRS feed

• Question

• Good Day to all of you!

I have the following questions, since I'm a newbie in using Windows 2008 Server:

Scenario: I have two identical servers (to be specific, both are HP ML110G6 Servers): 1 is the original which has two Harddrive (250GB each) setup for RAID - let's call this Server 1, and the other one is intended for Backup which only have one 1 harddrive also at 250GB - let's call this Server 2.

I backup all the contents of Server 1 using the Windows Server Backup of Windows 2008 Server. I chose the Backup Once Wizard for Full Backup, which means that the entire server data, applications and system state will be backedup. The backup is stored in an external Harddrive which capacity is 80GB, enought to contain the 40GB backup of Server 1.

In other words, I did a Full Image Backup of Server 1.

My questions:

1. Is it possible if I restore the Full Image Backup of Server 1 to Server 2 using the Windows 2008 Server Installation Disk by click on "Restore from a full backup..."?

2. How?

3. I bought with Server #2 a Licensed Windows 2008 Server bundled with Server #2 so there's no license issue or whatever.

PLEASE HELP ME ON THIS...

THANKS AND GOD BLESS YOU ALL.

Wednesday, February 23, 2011 8:44 AM

All replies

• Restoring server with system state  will potentially work although if you did this whilst the other was live there would obviously be a duplicate machine SID and duplicate name active at the same time. There is an element of doubt about the disk signature change so that could cause it to fail, although to be 100% you would have to try it.