Cooperating with earlier versions of VS and Azure RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all

I am a new developer for my company who have until now hired developers from China to work on the system my company uses today. I am trying to "jump in" on the development, and I figured - whats a better place to start than to download some softwares? To jump to my issue: My Chinese friends are using VS Enterprise 2013 with .NET 4.5 and Azure tools 2.1. During my learning process, I was told to just start with the free version of VS, so I downloaded VS Community 2015. I actually looked a long time for the 2013 one, but were not able to find any - only the Express version, which I have had trouble with before because it was lacking stuff. I also downloaded the newest Azure tools (2.7). However, when I try to open one of our projects, I get an error message saying that the solution uses Azure 2.1, which is not compatible with VS 2015, and that I must "upgrade" the solution. I am assuming that if I do this, the project will no longer be usable for my coworkers. 

I must admit its a little strange that its so hard to find the 2013 version of the Community (or Enterprise for that matters, I looked up both) unless Microsoft really, really, *REALLY* wants everyone to upgrade. What would be the best approach in this situation? Maybe I have overlooked a place to get the versions I need?? Or any other clever tips? Overall, I am very new in working in teams. Until now, I have just worked with what software I have, and whatever the IDE allows me to write :p

Thursday, November 5, 2015 2:53 PM

Answers

• Hi supermarius,

Thank you for posting in MSDN forum.

I really understand the inconvenience it brings to you. I will try to help you solve this problem.

At your side, since you and your Chinese workmates are in a team , I think it’s better to keep the same development with them, because you need to share the project solution and work for it.