Is managed c++ heavily used? RRS feed

• Question

• User-748598265 posted
    The subject says it all already: Are c++.net programmers here? Is c++ heavily used in .net development?
    Sunday, December 21, 2003 3:08 PM

All replies

• User-1087604911 posted
    Not very much at all. I tried making a career of it the last three years: wrote a book, wrote articles and taught people to very little interest. Most people have given up on the complexities of the language and the language itself for good in favor of C#. I did use it in a number of jobs for Interop through IJW but that's about it. Thats still its sweet spot but I'm afraid that its just not worth the effort overall when I (and most everyoen) can do things in C# in 1/10 the time. After 15 years as a C++ programmer, I have moved on too.
    Monday, December 22, 2003 8:36 AM
  • User958813738 posted
    MC++ is a great way to progressively migrate existing unmanaged C++ code base to .NET. It is the best way to communicate to unmanaged C++ server code from a C#/VB.NET client, especially if you have a complex server logic that you'd want to keep as is. Hope this helps, Appan
    Monday, December 22, 2003 3:38 PM
  • User-1087604911 posted
    Right, all of which is Interop. For writing new managed code, its too much bother.
    Wednesday, December 24, 2003 8:49 AM
  • User-1087604911 posted
    I have a whole bunch of articles on how to progressively migrate. See http://www.ondotnet.com/pub/a/dotnet/2003/01/13/intromcpp.html http://www.ondotnet.com/pub/a/dotnet/2003/03/03/mcppp2.html http://www.ondotnet.com/pub/a/dotnet/2002/11/18/everettcpp.html
    Wednesday, December 24, 2003 9:11 AM
  • User743145481 posted