ASP.NET Web API message UWP application RRS feed

• Question

• User221513077 posted

This is jut a general question.

What's the best way to message a UWP application from a Web API  / Webservice application.?

I need a webservice application to send messages to UWP applications, UWP applications do not need to send responses.  I can't use Azure.

Thanks 

Sunday, February 18, 2018 2:52 PM

Answers

• User475983607 posted

Yes this is running on intranet. And no you do not have to be in control of the network.  There all kinds of IoTs, Web Cams, car starters, thermostats that you can control from your phone or a computer.  It's a same thing, but a lot simpler, I just need a message nothing else. 

You are making assumptions about the technology.

I have a lot of experience in this field.  It is very easy to build devices that make requests. It is more complicated for the device to listen for messages.  Basically you need a message listener running on the device that accepts messages.  See UWP sockets reference docs.

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/uwp/networking/sockets

The next problem finding the device.  A know static IP (and maybe port) is the easiest but not the most robust.   

As Bruce said, you could use Web Sockets but web socket connections are established by the client and your design does not work this way.

• Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, October 7, 2021 12:00 AM
    Monday, February 19, 2018 12:27 PM

All replies

• User475983607 posted
    Web API (web apps) do not work like you think. Web API accepts a request and returns a response.
    Sunday, February 18, 2018 3:57 PM
  • User221513077 posted

Computer A running UWP application sits and waits for a command.

Computer B Calls Web API - And says send a message to one of your computers on your list.

Web API program figures out what computer needs a message and sends a message to this UWP computer.

Sunday, February 18, 2018 4:06 PM
  • User-474980206 posted