Where to start for a real beginner RRS feed

• Question

• I am an absolute beginner but excited about this software suite.

This is what I've accomplished so far:

1) I think I have all the software installed correctly

2) I have run the VPL software and got an NXT V1 robot to respond

3) I have run the VSE with the reference platform 2011 and by using the dashboard, I've made the robot move around... so cool!

But after reading some of the docs, I am very confused about so many things like all this Run DSS node and manifest stuff.

I have absolutely no experience in programming. Yet I am looking forward to learning more and have even entered the contest.

Is there a book or other reference material (written for dummies) that can get me pointed in the right direction? Is there a block diagram that shows me the relationships between all these programs  i.e. RDS, VPL, VSE, DDS?

Wednesday, November 2, 2011 4:46 AM

Answers

• To get started; I recommend above all, Patience. :) Microsoft Robotics Studio can do alot of things, and requires a good understanding of the C# language.(you must know the Basics, to understand whats going on)

To get it running on the outside world you will also need to understand the microcontroller of your choice; its platform, language, etc,.. (hence "Eddie" the robot from Parallax; ready to go, and beginner friendly)

The Wrox book for Microsoft Robotic Studio is well written, and gives you a good understanding of what goes on. I havent bought the new book from Shih-Chung Kang, Wei-Tze Chang, yet....will do a soon as I can.

Its easy for a beginner to get burdened out with too much info, and code syntax. Take it easy, have fun and above all have patience. :)

• Marked as answer by Trevor Taylor Thursday, November 10, 2011 5:34 AM
    Saturday, November 5, 2011 5:35 AM

All replies

• Try this book Microsoft Robotics Developer Studio or Programming Robotics Studio
    George Peter
    Friday, November 4, 2011 3:38 PM