From VB.NET to C# RRS feed

• Question

• I am an experienced VB/VB.NET developer with about 15 years of experience.  I am on a new project that is coded in C#, I have always wanted to learn C# so I welcome this opportunitiy.  I am interested in learning the C# syntax as quickly as possible.  I bought a C# book, it is very wordy...great book for beginners but not for someone like me who is only interested in syntax difference in C# vs VB.NET.  I would appreciate any input on this.  Thanks!
    Monday, May 24, 2010 5:45 PM

Answers

All replies

• Since you already know .NET a book may be over-kill and you may find that online articles are a far more efficient way to learn C#. One such example:

http://www.codeproject.com/KB/cs/quickcsharp.aspx

http://blog.voidnish.com
    • Marked as answer by SharePointBas Tuesday, May 25, 2010 12:13 AM
    Monday, May 24, 2010 5:57 PM
  • I am just learning c# too, being a VB programmer... what really helped me out was this VB to C# translation site...http://converter.telerik.com/... after a short time you will be able to write all your c# like you do the VB. Always remember... dont forget that ';' after everyline.

Good Luck!

Bill

Monday, May 24, 2010 5:58 PM
  • The most significant difference will be variable declarations.  Compared to VB, C# is almost like a Reverse Polish Notation.  You must also end every line with a semi-colon.  Otherwise the compiler will think the line of code is continued onto the next line, (Like the VB underscore).  Brackets are used to delineate the beginning and ending of code blocks,(Like the VB "End" keyword.)

Dim number As Int32

Int32 number;

In method declarations, Change "Sub" to "void".

Private Sub Method00()

End Sub

private void Method()

{

}

Change "Function" to the object type.

Private Function Method00() As Object

Return New Object();

End Sub

private Object Method()

{

return new Object();

}

Method declarations of the parameters look just like variable declarations.