Error Occuring in C++ I simply cannot understand or figure how to programatically fix. Help Please :) RRS feed

• Question

• I would have put a better title to this thread, but in all honesty, I have no idea what to call the thread to get the right people to read it.

I have been learning C++ while making my FFP_LockScreen 2.0, which has proven to create a great challenge to making the project work all the time.

I am guessing my major issue in the program right now is probably Memory Allocation [something I haven't done much of in the program], but what is really puzzling me is why adding a couple lines of code to a certain place 'breaks' the program.

I am resilient to post code for FFP_LS 2.0 here, but i will put up snippets that I feel concern the issues.

In the WM_CREATE message of my program (It is Win32, not MFC or ATL) I call a method "LoadImages()" which I created. The Method starts with some Registry reading, then closes the key, then based on what it read it creates some wchar_t variables for the program. These are, in turn, the paths to all the images to load.

Images that do not require to be stored in memory (not re-drawn often) have their paths stored, while images that do need to be redrawn often are drawn to a HDC in memory.

Code Sample for images whose paths are stored:

wcscpy((WCHAR *)&battery_full, (WCHAR *)&longPath);
    wcscat((WCHAR *)&battery_full, L"\\battery_full.png");

Where longPath is generated with those Registry reads, and battery_full is a global variable storing the path. This works just fine.

Code Sample for images who are drawn often:

wcscpy((WCHAR*)&temps, (WCHAR*)&longPath);
    wcscat((WCHAR*)&temps, L"\\touch_zone.png");

if (S_OK == pFactory->CreateImageFromFile((WCHAR *)temps, &pImage))
            if (FALSE == DrawAlphaImage(&hdcMem[HDC_TOUCH_ZONE], pImage, &touchZoneRC))
            {/*Err*/}
    memset(&temps, 0, sizeof(CHAR) * MAX_PATH);