none
Outlook 2007 PIA reference RRS feed

• Question

• This is my first time using Office PIAs, and have run into a problem when using my app on a different machine.

I have a console app that uses Outlook PIAs. Everything works fine on my development box, but when I move it to my staging machine, I get the following error: "Object reference not set to an instance of an object". I have Outlook 2007 installed my my staging machine, along with the Office 2007 PIAs. I have verified that Microsoft.Office.Interop.Outlook exists in the GAC.

The reference on my project for Microsoft.Office.Interop.Outlook points to C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 9.0\Visual Studio Tools for Office\PIA\Office11\Microsoft.Office.Interop.Outlook.dll. I have even tried creating this path on my staging machine, still with no luck.

Am I referencing the outlook PIA wrong? I added the reference from the .NET tab.

Michael Ruberg - www.landofsharepoint.com
    Monday, March 22, 2010 7:44 PM

Answers

• Ok, apparently casting to object wasn't the solution. I just thought it was becuase it started working when I did so. I did one thing different at the same time when it started working though which i didn't think would matter: I had Outlook opened.

So, you cannot just have Outlook installed along with the PIAs, it actually must be open and running...no idea why but it does.

Tuesday, March 23, 2010 9:12 PM

All replies

• The message means that your code has done something to create an instance of an object, and then you're not checking that the object actually exists and referencing it somehow, maybe calling a method.  So the short answer is that your code doesn't have any diagnostics or checks for errors, so it crashes when something isn't perfect. This is just normal debugging - find out where it failed, find out what object didn't get created, and then there may be enough information to see what's wrong. 
    Phil Wilson
    Monday, March 22, 2010 9:38 PM