Angry, drunken rant concerning the direction I'm seeing both Windows as a product, and DirectX as a whole taking.

General discussion

• Okay, in all honesty, I'm just venting here, and to top that, I've got half a bottle of single malt in me.  I just finished posting on the Steam forums out of frustration, given my efforts to get Bioshock 2 to work under Windows 8 ('Bioshock 2 has stopped working, Abort Retry Fail? (Pardon the DOS Joke)).  I will apologize now, given that all I have to provide is drunken sanitized invective, as opposed to a genuine request for support from a 30 year old Microsoft veteran, but I feel that to post the following anywhere would be disingenuous were I not also willing to make it visible to Microsoft employees.  While sober, I am an IT Support Technician, I am well aware of the challenges developers face while trying to get software to work on a multitude of hardware platforms running god knows how many different operating systems.  While I do find certain aspects of specific Microsoft products aggravating (What were you thinking with the Office Ribbon setup? I want my drop down menus back! And Games For Windows Live is a travesty almost worthy of a war-crimes tribunal), Microsoft as a whole has been very consistent and VERY well documented in the twenty some years I have worked with it's products.  With all of that said, please read this angry rant with the understanding that it carries years worth of frustration and anxiety concerning the direction I see Microsoft taking.