none
Help about how to get sum of the column RRS feed

• Question

• Good day,everyone can I ask how to get the sum of the column. I started learning few days ago in VB.net since VB 6.0 is not supported by Microsoft nowadays. 

Here is the sample program I make..

Dim ctr, i As Integer

'cn.Open()
                str = "select * from tblarecord where empid = '" & TextBox1.Text & "' ORDER BY empid ASC"
                cmd = New OleDbCommand(str, cn)
                da.SelectCommand = cmd
                da.Fill(ds, "tblarecord")
                ctr = ds.Tables("tblarecord").Rows.Count - 1
            For i = 0 To ctr

DataGridView1.Rows.Add(ds.Tables("tblarecord").Rows(i)(0).ToString, ds.Tables("tblarecord").Rows(i)(1).ToString, ds.Tables("tblarecord").Rows(i)(2).ToString, ds.Tables("tblarecord").Rows(i)(3).ToString, ds.Tables("tblarecord").Rows(i)(4).ToString, ds.Tables("tblarecord").Rows(i)(5).ToString, ds.Tables("tblarecord").Rows(i)(6).ToString, ds.Tables("tblarecord").Rows(i)(7).ToString)

Next

For sum = 0 To DataGridView1.Rows.Count() - 1 Step +1

TextBox2.Text = sum + DataGridView1.Rows(i).Cells(0).Value

Next

TextBox2.Text is my problem coz the value he get is the rows. So I want to get the column of data DataGrid.

if ID number search, dataGridView display the how many absences of the student and display it to TextBox2.Text.

I hope all can help me about it.Its project porpuses.

Thanks in advance

Clynnekent

Tuesday, January 21, 2020 2:00 AM

All replies

• Hi

A couple of ideas.

1. Bind the datatable to thre DataGridfView - then you don't need the very tedious long row add code

2. When bound, then always do calculations and data manipulation on the underlying data - the DataTable.

3. Using a DataTable enables some useful functions (like SUM of columns)*

This code is a stand alone example. Just needs a blank DataGridView1 and 4 TextBoxes (2,2,4 and 5) in the Designer.