none
Beginner's question about data types RRS feed

• Question

• Hi!

I'm a complete VBA noob but my work in excel has motivated me to dive into this stuff.

So I'm faithfully working my way through these tutorials.

I have a question about this secion:

Dim anInteger As Integer = 54
    MsgBox(CStr(anInteger))

I was trying out some stuff to see if I understood everything. I expected an error when I assign a value that doesn't correspond with a data type to a data type. Something like this.

Dim anInteger As Integer = False
            MsgBox(CStr(anInteger))

or

Dim whatever As Boolean = 6
            MsgBox(CStr(whatever))

But instead of an error I get a 0 or "True" as response. Why is this?

Friday, May 11, 2012 12:05 PM

Answers

• Strictly speaking, this forum is about VBA, the Visual Basic version found in VB6 and in Microsoft Office.

The code that you posted is for a newer version of Visual Basic (VB.Net / Visual Basic Express).

But Visual Basic is quite forgiving, it will attempt to convert a value to the required data type if possible.

When converting a Boolean value to a number, False becomes 0 and True becomes -1.

When converting a number value to Boolean, 0 becomes False and any non-zero value becomes True.

You can't mix all data types, though. The following line will cause an error:

Dim anInteger As Integer = "boerminator"

The string cannot be converted to a number in a meaningful way.

Regards, Hans Vogelaar

• Marked as answer by boerminator Friday, May 11, 2012 12:58 PM
    Friday, May 11, 2012 12:17 PM

All replies

• Strictly speaking, this forum is about VBA, the Visual Basic version found in VB6 and in Microsoft Office.

The code that you posted is for a newer version of Visual Basic (VB.Net / Visual Basic Express).

But Visual Basic is quite forgiving, it will attempt to convert a value to the required data type if possible.

When converting a Boolean value to a number, False becomes 0 and True becomes -1.