none
Displaying Array Values from User Defined Function RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I'm relatively new to Excel and VBA but I have a background in programming (namely PHP).

I'm trying to pick up VBA to use in different Microsoft applications but mainly focused on Excel at the moment.

Ok, I made a function in VBA (following a tutorial and modifying it based on my needs) that pulls the filenames from a specified folder and returns the data in an array. I wanted to have the each value in the array entered into each subsequent row. If I output the results off the array, one value at a time, to a MsgBox, the results are coming in.

But when I try to see it in the spreadsheet, it just shows the first value in array in cell A1. This is what I have entered in A1.

=IFERROR(INDEX(GetFileNames(), ROW()),"")

Here is my function.

Function GetFileNames()

' Set folder path
        Const FolderPath As String = "C:\Users\jbishop\Desktop\SOP Audit Excel Prototype"
        Const FileExt As String = "docx"

Dim Result As Variant
        Dim i As Integer
        Dim MyFile As Object
        Dim MyFSO As Object
        Dim MyFolder As Object
        Dim MyFiles As Object

Set MyFSO = CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")
        Set MyFolder = MyFSO.GetFolder(FolderPath)
        Set MyFiles = MyFolder.Files

' Research built-in Result function in VBA
        ReDim Result(1 To MyFiles.Count)

i = 1

' Loop through filenames and return within an array
        For Each MyFile In MyFiles
            If InStr(1, MyFile.Name, FileExt) <> 0 Then
                  Result(i) = MyFile.Name
                  'MsgBox MyFile.Name
                  i = i + 1
            End If

' Debug by returning value to msgbox
            'MsgBox MyFile.Name

Next MyFile
            ReDim Preserve Result(1 To i - 1)

'Return value on function end
            GetFileNames = Result

End Function