Data encryption in Access database RRS feed

• Question

• User186656733 posted

I am new to this subject - please bear with me.

Are Access databases encrypted?  If not, is there a way to do so and still use the data via SQL within Asp.net?

How are developers protecting their Access databases data, so if there is a breach, the data will be mostly useless to the thief?

If this is not the correct forum for these questions, please point to the right one.

Help most appreciated.

Friday, May 11, 2018 3:16 AM

All replies

• User753101303 posted

Hi,

You could likely use https://support.office.com/en-us/article/Encrypt-a-database-by-using-a-database-password-FE1CC5FE-F9A5-4784-B090-FDB2673457AB to encrypt the Acces file and https://www.connectionstrings.com/access/ to access to this file. Make sure also to place this file in a directory such as App_Data and that the file extension is not registered in IIS (the purpose being to block download attempts).

Finally make sure you really have  no other option as Access is primarily intended for a single user desktop use rather than as a scalable multi user database for web sites.

Monday, May 14, 2018 9:05 AM
  • User186656733 posted

PatriceSc,

Thank you for this information.  It obviously works. 

It does scare me a bit - what happens if password is corrupt, or some other unexpected problem occurs?  Is it still possible to get to the data?

Is there a way to encrypt/decrypt the data as it is read or written?  Would this be better/worse/no different than having a password?

This database was created a few years back, and client is unwilling to pay for the work necessary to upgrade.

Help is most appreciated.

Wednesday, May 16, 2018 1:40 AM
  • User347430248 posted

Hi Saavik,

You had asked several questions.

(1) It does scare me a bit - what happens if password is corrupt, or some other unexpected problem occurs?  Is it still possible to get to the data?