WebForms or MVC - an ASP.NET rookie in trouble RRS feed

• Question

• User25990494 posted

Hi,

I'm quite new to ASP.NET. Nevertheless I have to develop a quite complex project under the following requirements:

- extensibility

- high security

- of course proper functionality

- reusable elements / templates, i.e. same structure for object list display and edit view.

I've already developed a small application with WebForms but after reading almost every chapter of ASP.NET Unleashed by Stephen Walter I'm getting the feeling that I don't know anything about ASP.NET at all since it's so complex and huge.

I don't know anymore which technique or control fits best for my idea of reusable elements since I have to many different ways of doing it in my head. To get my reusable elements done, I created some Custom Controls but I'm not sure if it's better to solve it using FormViews or Master-Detail-View ...

The other question is: shall I use DataSets or EF or Linq to SQL ...

Argh, my brain is exploding! ;)

Since I used to be a PHP programmer making a lot of use of OOP techniques I really like to write my own source code, JavaScript (using jQuery, Ajax and JSON) and CSS.

Actually I included a lot of CssClass into my first WebForm project as well as some Ajax stuff using jQuery without making use of the .Net Ajax stuff. Furthermore I developed my own custom provider with my own database. So I'm really trying to keep control over my application.

My question is, does anyone think that MVC might help me getting my braincells into the right direction again? The problem is that I spend a lot of time trying to get this WebForm concept into my head but I'm still thinking I'm right at the beginning.

Now I fear running out of time trying to grasp the MVC approach not knowing if it might fit better in the end.

So do you think that MVC is easy to grasp and control?