Cube Design Best Practices RRS feed

• Question

• HI Team,

I've been an OLTP DB developer my whole life, and am now working on my first set of cubes.  I understand conceptually what I'm trying to accomplish, but the more I read about best practices, the more confused I get.  Obviously normalization is important in OLTP databases, and in cubes that is not as much of a concern, if any.  What I'm struggling with is exactly how much to flatten out my tables.  In some places I read that you should think of each dimension table as a view, or perspective to the data.  In other places, I read about creating hierarchies in a single dimension table...and that's where I start to get confused.  In my mind, wouldn't you want to put your data in different dimension tables, if it's worthy of chopping into levels.

Let me give you the "real-life" example I'm dealing with.  I work for a school system, and so we track test information.  In my OLTP database, I am looking at four tables:

Subject (Subject ID, Subject Name - Math, Science, Reading, etc.)
    Test (Test ID, Test Name, Subject ID -- tests are unique, but obviously more than one test can be associated with each subject)
    Section (Section ID, Section Name, Test ID -- Sections are unique, but can be associated with multiple tests)
    Question (Question ID, Question Text, Correct Answer, Section ID -- Questions are unique, but can be associated with multiple sections)

As I prepare to create dimensions for my cube, it seems there could be one of two ways I go with this:
    1) Create one dimension table that flattens out my above structure, so one row would contain: Subject ID, Subject Name, Test ID, Test Name, Section ID1, Section Name1, Section ID2, Section Name2, Question ID1....Question ID5, etc.)  I would then create a hierarchy for this dimension.
    2)  Create four separate dimension tables for Test, Section, and Question.  These would join together via keys.