Using BizTalk and thinking to move to Azure App Platform for integration scenarios RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, 

I am completely new to the Azure/Logic apps. I read some threads/articles about Azure and BizTalk Logic Apps online. 

Based on below statement, we run Orchestrations in Onprimise env. only but not in Azure?

"Control flow in the Logic Apps is still limited, the BizTalk Orchestrations allow you to run much more complex scenario where you use control shapes like the Listen Shape, Parallel Shape or Loop."

If I would like to move entire BizTalk onPrimise environemt to Azure completely (all artifacts... Schemas, Maps, Pipeline and Orchestrations). Is this possible?

Please excuse me if my question sounds so dumb. :)

Tuesday, November 27, 2018 6:27 PM

Answers

• Hi ,

If you take my words ,Logic Apps is great platform to work with cloud and on-premise resource .

Logic Apps are simple and easy to get started .In Logic Apps you can connect to verity of other azure server-less components like functions  ,data factory ,event grid ,service bus and many more  to work with massive scale enterprise integration . 

If you have any special business case which you want to describe here ,we would be happy to help you out 

If this answers your question please mark it accordingly. If this post is helpful, please vote as helpful by clicking the upward arrow mark next to my reply

Wednesday, November 28, 2018 12:08 AM
  • Well...no.  Maybe that was written 2-3 years ago, but right now (Fall 2018) it's simply untrue.

Any flow scenario you can implement with BizTalk can be implemented with Azure. You just need to bring in the appropriate services to compliment Logic Apps, most common being Service Bus.

Having said that, you can't just move your BizTalk apps to Azure :(.  They essentially have to be refactored on Azure services.

Wednesday, November 28, 2018 12:25 PM

All replies

• Looks like you yourself have posted the answer in the bold :)