mixing EF databse first and code first data modelling RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am very new to entity framework and hence would expect some detail answer to my problem.

I have a requirement in which i am developin a new ASP.net MVc application using entity framework code first approach so that it can be portable to any database.

but for that application i have to reuse some of the tables from one of the already existing database which is used in other applications.

For example :We have a student portal application already existing

Tables which i look for reuse are like Program, courses,universities ..etc(which are already in use in student portal application)

Now i am developing a Faculty portal application in which i would also need the same tables(Program, course, universites..etc) along with other tables specific to faculty portal application

for new tables in faculty portal i can use Code first and for resuing the existing tables i have to use Database first

my problem happens here:

suppose i took the Program table and Faculty Table

Program table is alraedy existing one- which i got using EF database modelling

Faculty table i crated using EF code first modelling with fluentAPI.

So now i have two model entities:

ProgramModel- from edmx

FacultyModel- code first

I have to create an entity which will be join both the models and will create 
    Faculty_Program table with FacultyId and ProgramId as composite key(join table)

How can i achieve that?

I am able to do that if i am using code first for both the program and faculty model.

But the problem happens when i try to reuse the program table using database first and tried to create the join table with faculty model

Please help me with prompt response

Monday, January 13, 2014 8:59 AM

Answers

• Hi Deepali123,

Do you mean that you want to use the code first work with two separate database? If it is, it is impossibe.