Help Oracle + EF Code First Tables With Database First Table RRS feed

• Question

• User280208792 posted

Hi,

I am very new to asp.net and EF and am currently in the the process of building my first major MVC application. I have been working so far with a code first approach for the tables that the application will use to store data, however now I have come to the part where I need to pull data in (on read only basis) from an Oracle database.

Is it possible and how can I go about interfacing with the Oracle tables, in the same way I would with the SQL tables that I have generated from a code first approach?

Also is it possible and can you give me an example how I can use linq and repository pattern that I use with my code first tables to interface with Oracle tables?

In the repository pattern I have create a generic class that you pass in an entity and it will give Get() GetByID() Delete() Update().

With the Oracle db I also need a way to make sure it is only used in a read only manner, ther Oracle database is governed by the HR systems Business rules engine and so to write back to it there is another method and the system I am building is going to do this action in monthly imports.

Finally is it possible to create a sql table that is almost a combination of an Oracle table or part of an Oracle table and then some additional data. I will try to explain, if we have in the Oracle database a table called contracts, on this table there is a unique AlphaNumeric Code field and a Description field. What I want to do is use these 2 fields to populate a sql table (and if changes are made to the Oracle table these be reflected in the SQL table) then add additional fields in the sql table like Hours/Week, Weeks/Year etc.

I know there are a fair few questions here so any help addressing them would be much appreciated, also is there anything I need to install to get this functionality?

Many thanks,

Andy

Sunday, June 24, 2012 5:40 AM

Answers

• User280208792 posted