Removing master page at runtime RRS feed

• Question

• User-781951798 posted
    Hi,<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" /><o:p></o:p>          I have a page with master page developed earlier and it is working fine. Now I want the same page to be used in some other module where I don’t want the master page, only the page has to be displayed. I don’t want the code to be repeated here by creating a new page and copying the old code, instead I want to call the page and the master page has to be removed runtime.<o:p></o:p>Note: I don’t want to disturb the existing page. So no code change in the existing page. <o:p></o:p>

Has anyone faced this kind of situation? Any help on this will be highly appreciated.

Monday, October 15, 2007 7:59 AM

Answers

• User-1426124666 posted

It's probably easier to create a second blank Master Page so you can set it to use that rather than trying to remove all references to a Master Page. You can then set it like this:

Protected Sub Page_PreInit(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Me.PreInit
            Page.MasterPageFile = "othermasterpage.master"
        End Sub

• Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, October 7, 2021 12:00 AM
    Monday, October 15, 2007 9:09 AM
  • User1702256038 posted

Hi,

Base on your description, you want the content page to remove the master page at runtime,that is to as say, do not use the master page at runtime, right?

But if the content page used the master page, the aspx file will like this:

<%@ Page Language="C#" MasterPageFile="~/TestCases/DEFAULT.master" AutoEventWireup="true" CodeFile="Default.aspx.cs" Inherits="TestCases_Default" Title="Untitled Page" %>
    <asp:Content ID="Content1" ContentPlaceHolderID="Main" Runat="Server">
    </asp:Content>

So it is very different with the normall page, so the content page only can work fine with the master page, or else it will throw the error message.