Linking a library

Question

• I feel like an idiot just having to ask this, but I'm still new to C++.  Also, I come from a nice and cushy C# background, where everything is magically done for you.
    So, I have a library that I want to hook to my C++/DirectX "metro" game.  It's my own C++ library and it compiles fine.  But, apparently, liking two projects together is a much different story for C++ than it is for C#.  So, I've already learned that my project needs to be a dynamic library. (I had to study up on what DLLs were)
    And I set it as a DLL in the configurations properties.  But, after trying to reference the library through add reference, then trying to connect it through the linker's additional dependencies, I still find my "metro" game having linker errors because it can't find the library files.

Any help. 

Sunday, October 7, 2012 2:34 AM

All replies

• Try using LoadPackagedLibrary function.

LoadPackagedLibrary

DLLs for Windows Store Apps

Sunday, October 7, 2012 4:17 AM
  • I've read up and I'm wondering if I need to add __declspec(dllexport) to all of the methods and functions in my library, or is there a better approach?  Maybe I shouldn't even be using DLLs, maybe I should be making a static library.  Honestly, all I want to do is put my commonly used classes and functions into a library (included in the solution) so that I can reuse them in each game.

Sunday, October 7, 2012 1:46 PM
  • To reference a standard DLL project from the same solution

• Open the shortcut menu for the project that will use the DLL and then choose Properties. On the Common Properties page, choose the Add New Reference button.

• In the left pane, select Solution, and then select the appropriate check box in the right pane.

• In your source code files, add a #include statement for the DLL header file, as needed.

This is what I've done, but I still get linker errors.

Sunday, October 7, 2012 4:02 PM
  • Hi,

Did you forget to create a Windows Store type DLL?