MPP versus SSIS RRS feed

• Question

• I’m new to parallel data warehouse (PDW) technology which uses the concept of massively parallel processing (MPP). In the SMP environment I routinely did most of my stuff in SSIS where possible. The approach was Extract, Transform, Load (ETL). However, when I started with the PDW I was advised that instead of ETL, the approach in PDW is ELT. I’m now faced with a dilemma. Can I default my approach to stored procedures that I now have the brute force of MPP? The data that I’m working with is largely stored in the PDW and most of it is generally stored in hash distributed format. I find that the general approach in this new environment the data is bulk-loaded loaded first to the landing area and then transformation is done using CTAS. These are flat-tables not star schemas. Can someone advise me the best practice in this regard – SSIS or MPP from the context that I have presented above.

Thanks,

Mpumelelo

Friday, March 3, 2017 1:26 PM

All replies

• Hi Mpumelelo,

This is a good question, and one that I see quite a lot, so it's worth exploring the reasons as to why you would pick one data loading method over another.

With MPP technology, such as PDW or Azure Data Warehouse, the architecture is such that you have a "shared nothing" design. What does that mean exactly? Well, each compute node has it's own storage and if you think about the strengths of this design it means that each compute node works independently.

With all of these independent nodes, with their own storage and own data, you need a "co-ordinator" and that is where the control node comes into play. The control node manages the workload over the compute nodes, as per a typical distribute compute architecture.

Now, to your question, if you think about how an SMP architecture works you only have the option of loading data sequentially. You have one path to the storage and you have one "compute node".