none
Run BackgroundWorker Processes Sequentially RRS feed

• Question

• The Situation: I have seen one thread that asks a similar question but is more convoluted than what I am trying to accomplish. I am migrating from MATLAB to C# so I am a novice with event handlers. I am able to run one BackgroundWorker process at a time with each having its own button and progress bar.

The Problem: I would like to run three BackgroundWorker processes by using one button (i.e. by performing one click) and having the tasks completed in sequence i.e. backgroundWorker1 (and its progress bar and "stage 1 complete" label) followed by backgroundWorker2 (and its progress bar and "stage 2 complete" label) followed by backgroundWorker3 (and its progress bar  and "stage 3 complete" label). Thank you.

The Code: Below is the whole code that I currently have but it only executes backgroundWorker1 (and its progress bar and "stage 1 complete" label) since I do not know how to incorporate backgroundWorker2 and backgroundWorker3. Form1.cs has 1 Button, 3 ProgressBar, 3 Label, and 3 BackgroundWorker components.

using System;
    using System.ComponentModel;
    using System.Windows.Forms;
    using System.Threading;

namespace BackGroundWorkerExample
    {
        public partial class Form1 : Form
        {
            public Form1()
            {
                InitializeComponent();
            }

private int progBar1Max = 25;
            private int progBar2Max = 10;
            private int progBar3Max = 50;

private void button1_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
            {
                // start backgroundWorker1
                backgroundWorker1.RunWorkerAsync();
                // disable button after click
                button1.Enabled = false;
            }

private void backgroundWorker1_DoWork(object sender, DoWorkEventArgs e)
            {
                for (int progBar1Val = 1; progBar1Val <= progBar1Max; progBar1Val++)
                {