none
Building & Consuming Async Web Service RRS feed

• Question

• I'm fairly new to web services.  I built a WCF Web Service.  It works fine when making synchronous calls.  I'm stuck trying to make an async call.  On the client side in Visual Studio, I get a "Cannot await TestWebServices.QuotingEngineService.SmallGroupQuote[]" error when trying to make the call.  Below is the pic of client configuration, the client code followed by the web service code. If you can point me in the right direction it would be greatly appreciated:

Client Web Config:

<bindings>
                  <basicHttpBinding>
                    <binding name="BasicHttpBinding_IQuotingService" maxReceivedMessageSize="2147483647" maxBufferPoolSize="524288" maxBufferSize="2147483647" />
                  </basicHttpBinding>
            </bindings>
            <client>
                  <endpoint address="http://10.32.0.99/QuotingWebServiceHMO/Service.svc"
                        binding="basicHttpBinding" bindingConfiguration="BasicHttpBinding_IQuotingService"
                        contract="QuotingEngineService.IQuotingService" name="BasicHttpBinding_IQuotingService" />
            </client>

Screen Shot of Configuration:

Page Load:

protected void Page_Load(object sender, EventArgs e)
            {
                List<int> corpIDs = new List<int>() { 57 };
                fetchRenewalAsync(corpIDs);
    }

fetchRenewalAsync - Where I get the error in VS:

private static async void fetchRenewalAsync(List<int> corpIDs)
            {
                using (QuotingServiceClient client = new QuotingServiceClient())
                {

var task1 = client.GetSmallGroupRenewals(corpIDs.ToArray(), "3/1/2015", "2/23/2015", 121);
                    return await task1;
                }       
            }

Quoting Service Interface:

[ServiceContract]
        public interface IQuotingService
        {

// Small Group Renewals:
            [OperationContract]