Document Library Standardization RRS feed

• Question

• hi,

i am new to share point and we are currently using sharepoint 2013 in my company. i would like to know if there is a possible way to make a standard document library. for example currently our company is handling lots of projects and in our document library we have a set of required documents for each project and we have separate folders for each group. is there a way to to do some of these actions:

- create a checklist to see which documents are missing

- Create a Validation rule on file names so file names are organized in similar way

- have size restriction on file types

also i would like to explore possibility of how to share specific parts with external users. really appreciate the help.

Tuesday, December 24, 2013 6:53 PM

Answers

• On top of Amit's detailed and brilliant response, you might also think about Document Sets.  These are like folders but are further customisable to allow the inclusion of document templates that can be generated upon demand.  A check list could be a word / .pdf guide for instance

Validation is doable as below but you can also customise the New / Edit forms with regular expressions and Javascript if those skills are within your team.

Steven Andrews
    SharePoint Business Analyst: LiveNation Entertainment
    Blog: baron72.wordpress.com
    Twitter: Follow @backpackerd00d
    My Wiki Articles: CodePlex Corner Series
    Please remember to mark your question as "answered" if this solves (or helps) your problem.

• Marked as answer by Lucied13 Friday, December 27, 2013 4:19 PM
    Wednesday, December 25, 2013 11:52 PM
    Answerer

All replies

• You can achieve this two ways