none
Duplicate datapoints

Question

• Hi,

Sorry I'm a little new with AI, so apologies if this question lacks detail!

We have just deployed AI version 2.0.0 to our existing asp.net site and it's been ticking over impressively for 3 days, then on the fourth day the datapoint count went from around 300k per day to 8 million. All day there were warnings that throttling was occurring because we were exceeding our 30k 5 minute limit. Finally we exceeded our free plan quota so now we're not reporting telemetry.

Checking some of the datapoints, it looks like there are duplicates. So filtering on just page views for one example I see 8 page view datapoints for one matching IIS log entry.

Are there recommendations for further diagnosing the problem? I could do with knowing whether the application is generating the duplicates or whether they are being mirrored at some later point. I've been hunting around forums and can't see anyone who has this problem where the problem appeared overnight. It's just a single server setup, no web farm or anything like that which might explain it.

Anyway - any help much appreciated!

Thanks.

Friday, May 20, 2016 9:13 AM

Answers

All replies

• Please clarify the following:

• Are you using the web app extension or have you recompiled your application with the AI SDK?
    • If you are using the SDK, which library packages are you using? (I presume Microsoft.ApplicationInsights and Microsoft.ApplicationInsights.Web)
    • What do you have configured in your ApplicationInsights.config file?
    • What AI modules are configured in your Web.config file?

Are you making your own trace calls in addition to the automatic telemetry capture?

Friday, May 20, 2016 6:31 PM
  • Hi,

Thanks for replying.

I'm not 100% sure what you mean by a web app extension, so I think we've not done that. We've added AI to our solutions via NuGet.

Yes we're using those packages you mention plus 

.Agent.Intercept
    .DependencyCollector