Operator '+' is not defined for types 'Client' and 'String' RRS feed

• Question

• User394746963 posted

I am working on a site that I would like to pass information from one page to another. I'm new to asp.net but not other languages, I'm just trying to learn some stuff. For some reason I keep getting the above error. The code I am using looks real similar to the code in the Murach book I am looking at, but I still get the error. Any help would be great.

//Code

Partial Class Customer
        Inherits System.Web.UI.Page

Private SelectedClient As Client

Protected Sub Page_Load(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Me.Load
            If Not IsPostBack Then
                ddlName.DataBind()
            End If
            SelectedClient = Me.GetSelectedClient()
            lblAddress.Text = SelectedClient.Address
            lblAddress2.Text = SelectedClient.Address2
            lblPhone.Text = SelectedClient.Phone
            lblEmail.Text = SelectedClient.Email
            lblIncidents.Text = SelectedClient.Incidents
        End Sub

Private Function GetSelectedClient() As Client
            Dim dvTable As Data.DataView = CType(AccessDataSource2.Select(DataSourceSelectArguments.Empty), Data.DataView)
            dvTable.RowFilter = "ID = '" & ddlName.SelectedValue & "'"
            Dim drvRow As Data.DataRowView = dvTable(0)
            Dim Client As New Client

Client.ID = drvRow("ID").ToString
            Client.Name = drvRow("Name").ToString
            Client.Address = drvRow("Address").ToString
            Client.Address2 = drvRow("Address2").ToString
            Client.Phone = drvRow("Phone").ToString
            Client.Email = drvRow("Email").ToString
            Client.Incidents = drvRow("Incidents").ToString
            Return Client
        End Function
        Protected Sub btnAdd_Click(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles btnAdd.Click
            If Page.IsValid Then
                Dim List As New List