Class Library Calculator RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to C# and have access to a simple App that I am struggling to understand and wonder if someone can help please?
    The App is a simple Class Library calculator App which is supposed to calculate result from a simple line read from a file.
    e.g. the input line is: add 2,multiply 3,apply 3. So the App calculates a result of 15. i.e. (3 + 2) * 3 = 15.
    The NUnit test it contains works fine but as I am new to C# I am struggling to understand how the App works.
    I would like to design and develop a simple Form containing a textbox where the user can enter the line (as above) i.e. add 2,multiply 3,apply 3. And when the user clicks on a button called "Calculate" the click event should go away and use the Calculator class (or combination of classes) and then display the result 15 in a label box on the Form. However, when I try to instantiate the Calculator class I get various error which I am struggling to fix, therefore request if somone can simply deign this simple form for me and perhaps with some explanation of how the App works?

Thursday, November 7, 2019 11:07 AM

All replies

• Humm.... line calculator used to be one of the common CS homework.

It involves basic parameter parsing (separation of digit and operands), command tree building (say, if you see "3 + 2 * 3", you know that you should calculate "2 * 3" before "2 + ?", or when you see "(" you know the remaining operation should be executed one level earlier until ")" is encountered) or stack operation (in this way you execute the commands as the string is parsed, and push data into stack if you need to temporarily go deep one level, and pop back when done), the remaining is just to use a switch statement to execute the commands in order defined in tree/stack.

There are about 2 to 3 "model answer" implementations that I've seen for this topic.

Thursday, November 7, 2019 2:11 PM
    Answerer