Dlookup in Query RRS feed

• Question

• Here is my scenario.  I have a report that pops open based on a Button_Click event.  I’m passing a few criteria to a SLQ query, which is controlled by some VBA code.  Everyhting works fine, except to the ability to display a field named ‘CompanyName’ from a table named ‘Customers’.  I have From (date) and To (date); these work fine.  I also have a ListBox, named lstCustomer.  This is the value that I want to pass to the query.

I’m not good with Dlookups, but I did take a stab at it.  I put this in the ControlSource:

=DLookUp("CompanyName","Customers","Criteria=[Forms]![ReportForm]![lstCust]'")

Of course, that didn’t work.  What am I doing wrong?

I can post the VBA, if necessary.  I don't think it is necessary; just adds to the confusion, I think.

Wednesday, January 25, 2012 4:01 AM

Answers

• >> These actually work:

=[Forms]![ReportForm]![lstCust].[ItemData](0) <<

Did you think they wouldn't ... LOL!!!

----

Is your list box, by chance, marked as a Multi Select list box? If so, and you only want the user to have only one choice, then verify that the "Multi Select" property of the List Box control is set to 'None'.

With the Multi Select property set to None, the use of the default property (Value) should indeed return the item that is selected....

=[Forms]![ReportForm]![lstCust]

Brent Spaulding | Access MVP
    • Edited by datAdrenalineMVP Friday, January 27, 2012 5:11 PM
    • Marked as answer by ryguy72 Friday, January 27, 2012 5:41 PM
    Friday, January 27, 2012 5:08 PM

All replies

• Which field in the Customers table corresponds to lstCust? If it is, for example, a field named CustomerID, you can use

=DLookUp("CompanyName","Customers","[CustomerID]=[Forms]![ReportForm]![lstCust]")

Note that there is no single quote after lstCust.

On the other hand, if the value if lstCust *is* the customer name itself, you don't need DLookup at all. Simply use

Regards, Hans Vogelaar