Change font color of datagridview selected cells RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am trying to change the font color of cell(s) that are selected by the user. So, the user highlights the cells, then presses a button to change the font color. I tried using datagridview1.selectedcells, but couldn't figure it out. Thanks in advance!

Monday, January 9, 2012 5:55 AM

Answers

• My apologies then. I didn't think the answers to my questions were that complex. I am a beginner when it comes to vb. Fortunately I have just had a lot of success finding answers my questions in this forum. Even if I don't receive the exact code for what I am trying to accomplish (which I rarely do) Any direction I am given is usually quite helpful.

Sonneh,

Welcome to the forum.  Please do not be put off by the first such reply as you received that prompted you to feel the need to apologize.  Your question is not that complex.  And since you indicated you are willing to work off of a suggestion course of action, you are more ambitious than many who look for cut and paste answers.

The example shown below creates an array of colors that you you will need to replace for your needs.  What you will need to do is create an array with length equal to the number of rows in your datagridview.  I just used a shortcut for this example that will create an array of colors.  Do not use this array for your application as it is just a subset of the available colors.

The biggest problem I see that you face will be to determine a way to select colors that are different yet readable against the backcolor.  The Button click event handler has the logic you will need to set the ForeColor based on the cell's RowIndex property.  I showed you the events on the DataGridView that you will need to handle for updating your color array. 

It's up to you to fill in the gaps.  Feel; free to ask questions if you need further guidance.

Public Class Form1
       ' Get all the values from the KnownColor enumeration.