none
wcf not friendly with Soap headers RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm new to wcf.
    Reading documentation and this forum I'm getting to the conclusion that wcf is not friendly with soap headers.

I've found two ways to work with headers, OperationContext class in a programatic fashion, but it have the problem that soapheader class isn't generate automatically from metadata in the client. Another way is using MessageContract that implies coding two clases for every method in the ServiceContract that use the header, which is a lot of work.

Web services had a much more straightforward approach to soap headers. I'd like a SoapHeader attribute to decorate operations.

Sunday, March 11, 2007 1:20 PM

Answers

• I see now, yes, it is unfortunate that the MessageContract programming model is so 'heavy'... this has been a source of negative feedback from many people who must use MessageContract to exercise the finer control of the shape of the SOAP messages.  We are aware of this usability annoyance, perhaps this will improve in a future version of the framework.
    Wednesday, March 14, 2007 3:29 PM

All replies

• What is the end result you are looking for?  I don't mean "to have SOAP headers".  I mean something like "to interop with a WS-Security SSL webservice".
    Monday, March 12, 2007 7:22 PM
  • I need:
    -T
    o interop with clients and services that use soap headers, asmx.
    -To use soap headers for the reason they were invented.

msnd library says about SopaHeader class:
    "SOAP headers offer a method for passing data to and from an XML Web service method if the data is not directly related to the XML Web service method's primary functionality."

If I have to pass general data to a stateless service, not related to a specific operation, but used by all of them, should I modify every single operation and add a parameter, or is better solution to pass a  soapheader?.