Cannot connect to MS SQL Server 2012 RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I have a big problem here with my MS SQL Server 2012. This is my first time to run MS SQL Server 2012 and when i try connecting, i keep seeing this error message:

"A network-related or instance-specific error occurred while establishing a connection to SQL Server. The server was not found or was not accessible. Verify that the instance name is correct and that SQL Server is configured to allow remote connections. (provider: Named Pipes Provider, error: 40 - Could not open a connection to SQL Server) (Microsoft SQL Server, Error: 53)"

I have tried implementing the proposed solutions that i saw on the forum concerning this problem but it is still not connecting. I am really frustrated. I don't know what do again. Please can some one help me out? I really want to use this DBMS for my studies. I will be very grateful for your help. 

Regards

Daryl

• Changed type Dan GuzmanMVP Saturday, March 1, 2014 3:48 PM question asked
    Saturday, March 1, 2014 3:17 AM

All replies

• Saturday, March 1, 2014 3:24 AM

• 1. Make sure SQL Server Service is running
    2. If a named instance, make sure SQL Server browser service is running
    3. Make sure SQL Server is configured to allow remote connections
    4. Examine the SQL Server error log for messages confirming that SQL is listening on the expected network interfaces and ports
    5. Test server connectivity with PING from the client machine
    6. Test port connectivity using TELNET or PowerShell to the server and port (from step 4) from the client machine.  For example
    a. TELNET <server-name> 1433
    b. PowerShell: 1433 | % { echo ((new-object Net.Sockets.TcpClient).Connect("YourServerName",$_)) "server listening on TCP port $_" }
    7. Check firewall settings if step 5 or 6 connectivity test fails

Best Regards,Uri Dimant SQL Server MVP, http://sqlblog.com/blogs/uri_dimant/

MS SQL optimization: MS SQL Development and Optimization