none
Windows 10 SDK gflags.exe RRS feed

• Question

• I need to use gflags.exe (Windows 10 SDK) to help find memory leaks for a project at work. When I try to run gflags.exe as an administrator, I get error "system registry gflags: error: 2". My colleagues and I are unsure of what error 2 is and are unable to find anything about it online. Any help with this issue would be greatly appreciated! 

More info:

Windows 10 Enterprise Edition, 64 bit

Am running gflags.exe as administrator

NOT receiving 'system registry gflags: error: 5' issue.

gflags GUI still pops up (though, on my image tab that I need, everything is grayed out)

Computer has been restarted since downloading/installing windows 10 SDK

This is cross-posted on the TechNet and microsoft community forums.

• Edited by rtb0012 Monday, March 18, 2019 8:02 PM
    Monday, March 18, 2019 6:13 PM

All replies

• Hello rtb0012,

>>>I get error "system registry gflags: error: 2".

If this is a system error (ERROR_FILE_NOT_FOUND: 2 (0x2)) it means "The system cannot find the file specified."

I can't reproduce this issue. Can you try the following methods to see if it works?

1. Run gflags from command line. 

• Open an CMD and navigate to the gflags tool path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\10\Debuggers\x64, then run it.

2. Find the gflags.exe at path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\10\Debuggers\x64. Right click and select "Run as administrator".

Please let me know if it helps.

Best regards,

Rita

MSDN Community Support
    Please remember to click "Mark as Answer" the responses that resolved your issue, and to click "Unmark as Answer" if not. This can be beneficial to other community members reading this thread. If you have any compliments or complaints to MSDN Support, feel free to contact MSDNFSF@microsoft.com.

Tuesday, March 19, 2019 7:44 AM