none
New to VBA - split cell with no clear delineation RRS feed

• Question

• The easy answer to my problem is to correct the method with which my company identifies hydraulic hoses but alas...

Our P/N has no delineation of spaces, /, -, etc.

ABBCC112233xxxH

components are actually items like: A33-xxx, BB11, CC22, if 11=/=33, BB11-33., if 22=/=33, CC22-33

The first step for creating my actual parts is to find out which a, bb, cc, etc I have.

What I'm attempting to do is output the components of each hydraulic hose in an assembly to its base parts.  There are 120+ hoses in our largest assemblies.  I'm new to VBA, normally I'd just use formulas or conditional formatting.... I'm running out of resources because of the # of components.

My current attempt (I'll post code after I'm verified):

• Defined workbook and sheet
    • Dim variants for each of my base components + sizing (7)
    • Dim and set range ("C:C")
    • Format range as text
    • Created a loop to search for the next (2) empty cells before stopping.  Within the loop:
    • Do until isempty(activecell) and isempty(activecell.offset(1,0))
    • Identified each cell in my range as a string
    • Using Left and Mid I've pulled components out of my string and defined my variants (IE Dim HoseType as variant; HoseType=Left(Hose,1)), where Hose=activecell.value
    • Create array where hosear=vba.array(hosetype, hosesize, etc)
    • I'm attempting to write the array starting in column 7 (G) with (1,Ubound(HoseAR)).

I get blank cells.  F8 finds no error in the code but I feel I'm either missing a step or using a more complicated solution than is available.

When I get authenticated I will post the code.

Suggestions on a simpler solution welcome.

Private Sub CommandButton4_Click()
    Dim wb As Workbook
    Dim ws As Worksheet
    Set wb = ActiveWorkbook
    Set ws = ActiveWorkbook.Sheets("Hose List")

Dim HoseType As Variant
    Dim HoseSize As Variant
    Dim HoseLength As Variant