none
Database design - issues arising RRS feed

• Question

• Hello all

I am fairly new to database design, but have maintained an Access database for a while. I am putting together a database to manage a local produce show. I will have a form to log exhibitor information and entries, a form to log results, a report to view exhibitor results/entry summary (e.g. # classes entered, # entries, total fee, total prize money etc.) and a report or form to review trophy awards (e.g. most point for WI member in Produce category). Here is my current design.

However, things get pretty complex when I consider how to do the following:

- total points for all non-WI members

- total points for all WI members

- exhibitor results summary (oer exhibitor, #classes, #prizes, total sum won, etc)

I have spent some time creating queries and then summing the results here and I am still finding issues. Although I expect this database design will work if I stick at it, I would like to ask if anyone can advise on a better design or point out where improvements can be made.

Thanks for any help

Ray

EDIT: I have been asked to provide a bit more information about the data:

• Edited by larsty Monday, September 2, 2019 8:48 PM Additional information
    Saturday, August 31, 2019 3:10 PM

All replies

• I am fairly new to database design, but have maintained an Access database for a while.

Hi Ray,

You better start with "sound" Fieldnames: no spaces, no questionmark, no numbercharacter to start with, no other non-standard characters. Lateron they will give you problems.

Instead use something like "Phone_number" or "PhoneNumber".

The nice thing of "Phone_number" is, that for display purposes for the user, you can easily replace all underscores by spaces.

Imb.

Saturday, August 31, 2019 3:59 PM
  • Thanks for the hint - I thought I had normalised the database design up to 3NF. Can you see where it's not compliant?

Thanks

------

Saturday, August 31, 2019 5:52 PM