none
how to use button to pop up msgbox when 2 or more items check on checklistbox RRS feed

• Question

• im just starting to learn vb and i dont familiar with coding so i get so much trouble to understand it.

for example, there is 3 items to check. if the fist and the second were checked then msgbox pop up and says 1 and 2. how can i do that??
    thanks
    sorry for my bad english

Tuesday, October 10, 2017 6:55 AM

All replies

• for example, there is 3 items to check. if the fist and the second were checked then msgbox pop up and says 1 and 2.

What are the 'items' that are checked?  If they are checkboxes on a form, then you would use code like

If CheckBox1.Checked AndAlso CheckBox2.Checked Then
            MsgBox("1 and 2")
        End If

but it's not clear where you would want that code to be inserted.  For instance, should the check occur when the user checks or unchecks a checkbox, or should it occur at some other point in the processing? And does it matter whether or not 3 is also checked?

Private Sub CheckBox1_CheckedChanged(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles _
            CheckBox1.CheckedChanged, _
            CheckBox2.CheckedChanged, _
            CheckBox3.CheckedChanged
            If CheckBox1.Checked AndAlso CheckBox2.Checked AndAlso Not CheckBox3.Checked Then
                MsgBox("1 and 2")
            End If
        End Sub

If you are referring to a CheckdListBox rather than a list of check boxes then the equivalent code might be something like:

Private Sub CheckedListBox1_SelectedIndexChanged(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles CheckedListBox1.SelectedIndexChanged
        If CheckedListBox1.CheckedIndices.Contains(0) AndAlso CheckedListBox1.CheckedIndices.Contains(1) Then
            MsgBox("1 and 2")
        End If
    End Sub

For a useful response you should add a lot more detail to your question.

• Edited by Acamar Tuesday, October 10, 2017 7:26 AM
    Tuesday, October 10, 2017 7:17 AM
  • Hi Priekiew,