Show disabled Back button when screen has invalid input

General discussion

• The NavigationBackButtonNormalStyle hides the Back button whenever it's disabled.  I'm considering disabling the Back button until the user corrects invalid input.  If the back button is hidden, then I think that the user will be confused.

Am I breaking some "best practice" by showing a disabled back button?  Should I instead enable the Back button then popup an error message if the user clicks it before fixing her invalid input?

Saturday, March 28, 2015 8:13 PM

All replies

• I don't think you'd break any rules showing a disabled back button, but I don't think it would be good UI. Typically, in Windows apps you don't show UI unless it's currently active, though this is gradually changing.

I think a popup error message will work just fine.

I'm a self-taught noob amateur. Please take this into account when responding to my posts or when taking advice from me.

Sunday, March 29, 2015 1:52 PM
  • Actually, I have come across a "best practice" from Microsoft for Windows Store apps that says not to show disabled buttons on the main app canvas.  And since NavigationBackButtonNormalStyle hides the Back button whenever it's disabled, I'll probably just let it be hidden when there are unresolved issues with user input.

I'm still conflicted, though, since this may confuse users.  At the same time, I think it's misleading to let a user click a button just to tell them, "No, actually you can't click that yet."

I hope to get more opinions chiming in here.

Monday, March 30, 2015 10:40 PM
  • I would say stick with the convention unless you have a very good reason for going against it.

If you're sitting on the fence err on the side of best practice.